humor

Toward a Theology of Pipesmoking

Theophiliac has alerted me to a theology of pipesmoking. It is a 73 page document, including 5 appendices. Its hilarious. And irreverent. And well done so far. All excellent qualities as far as I’m concerned. Part 1 is here and part 2 is here. I lift my pipe to you Arthur D. Yunker. Here is his abstract:

Toward a Theology of Pipesmoking

In which it is argued that worthy pipesmoking is one of the ultimate gifts of the Holy Ghost and brings its practitioners very close to the nature of the Kingdom of God, which arguments are diligently supported by unassailable proof texts and incontestable logic.

However, the fun is not over. Theophiliacs has posts of their own on theology and pipesmoking as well (1, 2, 3, and Appendix).

Standard

8 thoughts on “Toward a Theology of Pipesmoking

  1. jstambaugh says:

    Hey, DW, thanks for the link. The Yunker document is wonderful isn’t it? I haven’t been able to figure out what became of the man. In any event, I am glad to have found your blog, and will be spending some time picking through your posts.

    Peace of Christ,

    James Stambaugh (from theophiliacs)

    • If the internet is true, Yunker seems to still be pastoring down in the south, on facebook(!), and in fact just commissioned/blessed/ordained(?) his son into the Lutheran church. I expect he’d be a good pastor — excellent sense of humor without compromising a theological understanding.

  2. Pingback: Unbelievable Faith » Blog Archive » Pipe Smoking

  3. Arthur D Yunker says:

    I just saw my name among the obits on the Temple University site. Apparently I was a classics major in the class of 47. That surprised me, since I thought I was a graduate in theology in 72. Anyway, lived in MN for 25 years, then 10 in New Orleans, where we lost everything in Hurricane Katrina – including my hardbound copy of my own pipe book. We ended up in my deceased parents’ house in Mobile AL, and I got a call to Christ Lutheran in Pascagoula MS. They suggested we keep the Mobile house, so I bought it from the estate (I had inherited 1/4 of it). So now we live in Mobile and I work in Pascagoula (about a half-hour commute). I still have about a dozen pipes; the rest were lost in Katrina.

  4. Rev. Yunker,

    It is wonderful to hear from you. Your little book has brought me a great deal of pleasure and for that I thank you. Keep fighting the good fight.

    Peace of Christ,

    James Stambaugh

  5. Dana Ellis says:

    Arthur,

    I arrived in St. Louis, MO in August 1970 and lived at St. Henry Parish in the city working as a volunteer. I met Len Parcel who was studying medicine here. He spent time with us at St. Henry’s. I recall visiting Concordia with him at times during 1970-71. I was a former Dominican novice and Lived with the Trappists for an extended period so Len and I had much to discuss. I had been smoking a pipe for years and was delighted when Len shared with me a copy of your “Toward a Theology….”.
    Thank you! I too lost my copy years ago and justt today was discussing your book with a friend who is new to pipes. He is also a young minister. A web search found the text and you. I wish you well. And…do you happen to have contact with Len?
    we lost track of each other after 1971 and I have often wondered how he was doing.
    Dana Ellis
    ellisdanarene@aol.com

  6. Randy Walker says:

    Rev. Yunker,

    I was raised in the LCMS church and really enjoyed your book as both a Lutheran and a pipe smoker. Thanks for penning this great little book.

    Randy Walker

Leave a Reply

