books

A Book List for the Curious but not Theologically Inclined

About two hours before I left from home, at the end of this last Christmas break, a brother of mine asks me if I have some books to recommend. Admittedly I was shocked – He didn’t read much last time I checked. I checked again, yep, still not much of a reader. Right. So he wants a book or two to read? Now this is a challenge. I can’t overwhelm him, but he is asking for a book. It has to be at a high school reading level, but still call him deeper. The language needs to be simple, but maintain his curiosity. Over all, I am unsure as to what he really thinks theology is. I just hope he isn’t expecting wrote memory with the “objectivity” of Grudemn or Erickson, but in pill form.

With the help of Halden and some others in the book business, I decided on two books: Mere Discipleship by Lee Camp (think Yoder but in easier language) and Simply Christian by N. T. Wright (think Mere Christianity but for Christians).

Hopefully this will get him thinking about his goal to fly and build planes through the air force and the theological implications of the Christian life. Then again, theology is so much bigger than designing bombs, and so ultimately, I am looking for conversational books that will draw him deeper into thinking critically/theologically about his life now and in the future. I think Camp and Wright fit that well. I just hope it sticks.

Does anyone else have other suggestions? I’m still somewhat at a loss. This seems like a particularly hard audience to find a good book for.

Standard

4 thoughts on “A Book List for the Curious but not Theologically Inclined

  1. Chesterton’s Orthodoxy is always a good recommendation. The language takes a bit of gtting used to, bit it’s such a different way of thinking about things that it kept my interest well beyond my expectations.

  2. Hmmmm…I didn’t actually connect “high school reading level” with him actually still being in college. Well, it’s thought provoking if nothing else, but it’s pretty dense. I think that you’d like it, mostly because it deals with a lot of the rationalist difficulties that Chesterton worked through on his way to becoming a believer.

    I thought that Hauerwas’ “Resident Aliens” was fairly accessible. Maybe that would be a better recommendation…? Or even a biography like John Perkins’ “Let Justice Roll Down” to get the juices flowing would be interesting. That book is definitely at his reading level, but the content is pretty crazy. He’s an amazing man.

Leave a Reply

