Johann Metz, political theology

Metz on Real Theological Promise

During my stays in the United States it became ever clearer to me that there is a growing conflict of cultures or civilizations within Catholicism in the Western, so-called first world, a clear alienation and lack of connection between roman Catholicism on the one hand and the religious-political traditions of the Anglo-Saxon world on the other. Yet for me the new theological challenge became that of drawing in the non-Western world, the so-called third world. This exposed the logos of theology to social suffering and misery as much as it did to the suffering the comes from being culturally and ethnically different in a world and world church dominated by the West. I will never forget my encounters with my friends in liberation theology in Latin America and my experiences in the base communities of these nations.

Standard

Leave a Reply

