liberation, Oscar Romero

Someone Actually Did It — Romero is on Youtube

Someone put Romero in its entirety up on Youtube. I got this in dvd last spring, and I had wished then that I could show it to everyone. I suppose this is the closest I can come to such an urge, so watch the videos below and then go buy a copy of it and show it to more people.

My favorite parts are: the funeral mass in video 4; Romero, pacifistically and in his vestments, confronting the army, who have over taken the church, so he may “take care of the Eucharist” in video 7; and Romero’s address to the country and the army at the beginning of video 11. Basically, when Romero speaks and acts, people should listen. He was amazing, and an orthodox Catholic to boot. I have a few quotes below from the videos, but make sure to watch the videos themselves, they contain much that the words cannot convey.

Oh, and one more thing, this is why we protest the School of Americas. It was by the hands of people we train that the poor die and those like Romero who lived in solidarity with the oppressed.

From video 4:

Romero: If this were an ordinary funeral, I would speak of my friendship with Father Grande. At crucial moments in my life, he was always there, close to me. And those times will never be forgotten. But this is a moment to gather from these deaths a message for all of us who remain on pilgrimage. The liberation that Father Grande preached was a liberation rooted in faith. And because it is so often misunderstood, for it, Father Rutilio Grande died. Who knows, perhaps the murders are listening to these words? So we want to tell you, murderous brethren, that we love you and that we ask for repentance in your hearts.

From video 11:

Romero: I’d like to make an appeal in a special way to the men in the army. Brothers, each one of you is one of us. We are the same People. The farmers and peasants that you kill are your own brothers and sisters. When you hear the words of a man telling you to kill, think instead in the words of God, “Thou shalt not kill!” No soldier is obliged to obey an order contrary to the Law of God. In His name and in the name of our tormented people who have suffered so much, and whose laments cry out to heaven: I implore you! I beg you! I order you! Stop the repression.

Video 1

Video 2

Video 3

Video 4

Video 5

Video 6

Video 7

Video 8

Video 9

Video 10

Video 11

Standard

3 thoughts on “Someone Actually Did It — Romero is on Youtube

Leave a Reply

