science

Good Lord, EVEN Dan Brown Sees It.

Say what you will about Dan Brown. Hes pretty boring, the writing sucks, his stories are formulaic and uninteresting, if not hard to believe, etc., however, even he in Parade sees that there is a religious faith under-girding what we understand as science:

Are you religious?
I was raised Episcopalian, and I was very religious as a kid. Then, in eighth or ninth grade, I studied astronomy, cosmology, and the origins of the universe. I remember saying to a minister, “I don’t get it. I read a book that said there was an explosion known as the Big Bang, but here it says God created heaven and Earth and the animals in seven days. Which is right?” Unfortunately, the response I got was, “Nice boys don’t ask that question.” A light went off, and I said, “The Bible doesn’t make sense. Science makes much more sense to me.” And I just gravitated away from religion.

Where are you now?
The irony is that I’ve really come full circle. The more science I studied, the more I saw that physics becomes metaphysics and numbers become imaginary numbers. The farther you go into science, the mushier the ground gets. You start to say, “Oh, there is an order and a spiritual aspect to science.”

Thomas Kuhn has clearly made it into pop culture.

Standard

One thought on “Good Lord, EVEN Dan Brown Sees It.

  1. Mbendder says:

    This is true irony, but scratch past the surface and you will see that it is irony only based on the assumption of the perceived inconsistency between science and religion (thank you enlightenment). But the further irony is that many promoting the big bang theory are inadvertently promoting a long held beliefs of the Catholic church.

    But the Big Bang theory was originally posited by Georges Lemaitre, a JESUIT. Stephen Hawkings, a member of the Pontifical Academy of Science, extends and corrects Lemaitres work into a more viable thesis. Further, Hawkings promotes the idea that the universe was created in a moment of singularity. Like, um, some dude in the middle ages said [ehem, Aquinas].

    Yes, full circle.

Leave a Reply

