blogging

To Hell With Blogging, And Back Again

I’ve been troubled for some time that the genre of blogging dictates our theology when done on blogs.

When I’ve questioned other bloggers before, worrying that we may be more determined by the process than we know, I’ve often received the response: “Well, just break the rules.” However, I believe I do this to a large degree already. I do not follow a word limit, including pictures and video rarely concerns me unless it really makes my point, and, frankly, many posts develop so quickly that they are written directly in wordpress, rather than a word processor — which is probably a huge mistake for myself since the long editing process is often abbreviated.

Also, on the “about page”, a page that has not undergone a significant editing since I wrote it, I voice the reasons for doing the blog: “1. to practice putting out theological thoughts; 2. to raise discussion around these thoughts; and 3. to work on my writing, specifically on clarity and style — I’m sure by now you can notice it could use some help.” I’ve also made known that my audience will be whom it will. I haven’t been seeking to play to a niche or desires of a specific group or school of thought. As far as I know, this is not the “proper” understanding of how to blog, or more to the point, have a successful blog.

However, I have still been left unsatisfied and worried that one may be beholden too much to how blogs work. Yet, I cannot seem to give up my blog. While there seem to be many, many cons, the few pros have significant weight. I have been able to put together papers and essays from blog posts. And as such, word play has been essential to my thinking and writing process. Best of all, the posts are searchable and I can reference them for myself from nearly anywhere. And then there is the category of extremely helpful comments: some have been needed reminders, others pointed me to areas I had never considered, and still more, I have met and now call friends some of who have wondered into this blog.

And so I’ve come to come to a conclusion. I seek interlocutors, not an audience.

This brings me to Matt Harding. This guy traveled the world. He has made videos of himself doing so. On a whim, he started taking videos of himself doing the same dance in very different places. And then he realized, that with just him doing the dance, it kinda sucked despite the background vistas — or at least the videos could be much better. The first video below is one he released, and the second video is Matt explaining his process for making his videos. These epitomize exactly what I believe theological blogging should be: despite the fact that many may dance poorly, it is a grand, albeit messy dance because it is with people who want to dance with you for the good of God’s work.

Here is the produced video:

Here is the video of Matt talking about the process:

Standard

5 thoughts on “To Hell With Blogging, And Back Again

  1. Pingback: A Contribution to Blosody, or Blogging: Speaking Irresponsibly « theophiliacs

  2. myles says:

    “And so I’ve come to come to a conclusion. I seek interlocutors, not an audience.”

    Amen, and amen. The day that we seek audiences, we’re just getting dumber.

  3. I disagree Myles. I am outside of the academy and at the fringe of theological blogs. Many of the reputable blogs inspire me and function as my continuing education (though not solely!). I aspire to write at a level that may attract some attention in these circles. It would be great to then become and gain interlocutors in some of these spheres but initially I am content to gain an ‘audience’ (albeit a particular audience) or to put it directly to your comment it is my hope that in seeking an audience I am honing and developing theological skills.
    And yes feed my fragile ego in the meanwhile but I am no saint!

  4. Pingback: A Troubling Sign of Things to Come? « the de-scribe

Leave a Reply

