blogging, not so theological

Meta, again.

David CL Driedger put up a few days back a post about how many of the blogs he reads have gone rather silent. I’m on the list, which would be a correct characterization of my blog posts of late.

Part of this is because I’ve been very focused on my dissertation outline. Getting this approved as soon as possible means better chances for funding.

Still, I’ve been quietly working on my blog. I wasn’t sure how to introduce it, other than as yet another post about blogging, but this works as good a time as any. I’ve sharpened my “About” page on this blog; I’ve made the language more explicit. I think this is important for blogging. There is not a singular concept for how to blog, unless you’re gunning for a huge audience, and maybe not even then. However, readers and writers still come with their presumptions about what makes a good post. For this blog in particular, I find that the source for most problems is simply because the reader expects from me what I already expect from them to understand a specific post. So maybe the following will clarify exactly what I’m trying to do here:

The purpose of this blog is for theological meandering. I am not working towards a specific, grand goal for this blog; instead, the guiding idea is about chasing curiosities and working out thoughts that get stuck in my head. Clearly then, doing this blog is just as much for myself, if not more, than for a reader. I have an itch and it needs to be scratched — the scratching helps me distill and organize my thoughts. This process is not for superficial grins and giggles, but functions like a springboard for work elsewhere (e.g. papers, presentations, articles). There is a logic to the madness, trust me; even seemingly disconnected posts are actually linked. In short, the blog here is part of my thinking-writing process. But I could scratch privately, and I do, so why this blog? After all, such a diffuse process can be difficult to engage. Still, I have found that having a written, searchable record accessible by any internet device and in combination with written, well-placed comments, has been extraordinarily helpful. A theological blog is also helpful for meeting other people of similar and not-so-similar interests. Thus this blog continues.

Standard

One thought on “Meta, again.

  1. Fantastic. Great to see the wheels are still turning. I definitely think there can be shift from the initial ‘freshmen enthusiasm’ in blogging to a more substantial (albeit highly occasional) form of engagement that starts connecting to other publishing and professional expressions.

Leave a Reply

